Arnold O. Bautista, MD, DPBA


The Far Eastern University – Dr. Nicanor Reyes Medical Foundation Hospital was established October 25, 1955. It marked the beginning of a new era in Morayta. The Department of Anesthesiology was born with Dr. Leoncio J. Yatco in the following year, handpicked by the late Dr. Ricardo L. Alfonso, the first hospital director. They trained together in the United States. Dr. Eugenio R. Garcia who graduated that same year from UST was the first ever resident of the department whom Dr. Yatco personally nurtured and trained to ensure that incoming residents will not grope their way around but instead they will have enough stock knowledge to tide them over until they have mastered finer points of the specialty.

The hospital started with two operating rooms and two delivery rooms which were expanded in the early 60’s to make four operating rooms. The first medical graduates debuted in 1957 with Dr. Edilberto Valcos, popularly known as “Tatang” as the first alumnus to get into the department but it took him two years to make up his mind whether to finally go into anesthesia and in 1959, he finally decided to embrace the specialty and make it his lifelong career. He is still active professionally. Dr. Eligio Casile who graduated in 1959 came in the same year and is one of our most successful alumni in the specialty but finally retired last year in the US after a similarly successful career there. Dr. Eugenio Garcia took over the department in 1983 when Dr. Yatco handed over the helm and finally decided to retire; totally detached from the humdrums and vagaries of practice and to finally savor the fruits of his labor which was well spent and worthy of emulation. His tenure as Chairman ended in 1985.

Dr. Roberto V. Querimit was then appointed Chairman of the department in March of 1985, spending twelve years of fruitful stewardship of the department. He retired in 1997. It was Dr. Noe P. San Jose who then took over and assumed responsibility as chairman of the department overseeing the transition of the Department as the Hospital moved from Morayta to its present location at Fairview in 1999. His tenure of Chairmanship ended on May of 2008 when Dr. Arnold Bautista became the head of the department full of hope and expectations of more things to come our way our previous chairpersons have dreamed and wished for.

Previous Chairmen
Noe P. San Jose, MD 1997 - 2008
Roberto V. Querimit, MD 1985 to 1997
Eugenio R. Garcia, MD 1983 to 1985
Leoncio J. Yatco, MD 1956 - 1983


Academic Faculty:
Ernesto F. Dela Cerna, MD, FPBA
Arnold O. Bautista, MD, FPBA
Dr. Nimfa R. Baria, MD, FPBA
Dr. Ferdinand R. Duque, MD, FPBA

Clinical Faculty:
Senior Consultant
Ernesto F. Dela Cerna, MD, FPBA
Arnold O. Bautista, MD, FPBA
Antonio Lu, MD, FPBA
Cleto Veranga, MD, FPBA

Training Officer:
Eva R. Español, MD, FPBA

Junior Consultants:
Nimfa R. Baria, MD, FPBA
Ma Fe P Pacheco, MD, FPBA
Rafael R. Ibañez, MD, FPBA
Madeline G. Andal, MD, FPBA
Raul B. Vallarta
Dominador P. San Andres, MD, FPBA (Section Chief – Thoracic Anesthesia)
Ana Maria P. Dela Cerna, MD, FPBA (Section Chief – Pediatric Anesthesia)
Ferdinand R. Duque, MD, FPBA
Tracy C. Mendoza, MD, FPBA
Arvin I. Palomar, MD, FPBA
Winston P. Abesamis
Bryan M. Haberia,MD, FPBA
Eva R. Español, MD, FPBA
Jeffrey C. Maldia, MD, FPBA
Khristine Ilo-Ramos, MD, FPBA
Angelo Poblete, MD, FPBA (Section Chief – Pain Medicine)
Brian Z. Villarin, MD, FPBA (Section Chief – Cadiovascular Anesthesia)
Philip G. Manalo, MD, FPBA
Abigail C. Luna, MD, FPBA
Charlene P. Syjuco, MD


The Training Program
A three-year training program providing Resident Physicians with a general professional training in Anesthesiology.

The training program involves all aspects of Anesthesia and Intensive Care to enable the Residents to learn how to deal with most types of anesthetics and resuscitation problems.

Importance is given to learning related basic sciences, medical disciplines and development of knowledge and skill in Clinical Anesthesiology. Training is conducted under the supervision of the Consultant Staff.

Three years is the optimum period required to learn the specialty. The three years of general professional training in Anesthesiology will normally culminate in an acquisition of a certificate of completion of Anesthesiology Residency.

To provide an environment committed to excellence in all aspects of training and patient care as an anesthesiologist.

To provide a residency training program which encourages a solid educational environment in which to pursue academic, clinical, and research interests.

To develop expertise in general and regional anesthesia in all settings - pain management, critical care, cardiopulmonary resuscitation and academic investigation.

To provide the highest quality patient centered care and create an atmosphere that promotes the practice, learning, and teaching of clinical, intellectual, and ethical aspects of the practice of Anesthesiology, peri-operative care and pain management for students, trainees and faculty.

To establish areas of excellence within Anesthesiology and with other departments to support the development of new knowledge utilizing both clinical and basic research programs

Academic Program
A one hour a week subject incorporated in Surgery 3A covering the following topics in Perioperative Medicine. History of anesthesia, Preoperative evaluation, Intraoperative Monitoring, Airway Management, Regional Anesthesia, Redistribution and uptake of volatile anesthetics, Non Volatile (Intravenous) Anesthetics and Local anesthetics, Volatile Anesthetics and Neuromuscular Blocking agents.


The department was also allowed to take part in the gradual phase out of the part III (Practicals). Inclusion in this program is based on the performance of the training program in the In Training (In Service examinations), Only 17 out of the 52 anesthesia training hospitals in the country has qualified for this program by the Philippine Board of Anesthesiology. This is based on the department’s performance of its residents in the In Training examinations, at least 50% passing in the part I (Written) of the graduates and continuous full accreditation status of the department. It has been our third straight year that we qualified for this program.

All of our qualified active consultants are recertified thru the Philippine Board of Anesthesiology Continuing Demonstration of Qualification program (CDQ). We are the only specialty society in the Philippines with a functioning recertification program which is now on its 5th year. This is required for fellows of the Philippine Board of Anesthesiology who have been fellows for at least 10 years. This is valid for 10 years after which the fellow is again required to take the recertification.

We are an accredited training institution by the Philippine Board of Anesthesiology up to December 31, 2016

Application Requirements

    Requirements for Residency Training
  1. Graduates from recognized schools, college and/ or Faculty of Medicine, preferably graduates of FEU NRMF Institute of Medicine.
  2. Satisfactorily completed approved internship.
  3. Shall have passed the Philippine Board of Medicine Licensure Examination and licensed to practice Medicine in the Philippines.
  4. Of good character and physically fit.
  5. Passed screening of the Residency Training Committee



Annual Convention, Philippine Society of Anesthesiologist, November 2015

  • History
  • Faculty
  • Programs
  • Achievements
  • Application Requirements
  • Announcements
  • Calendar